Therapy sources and focal zones designed for individual indications

FOCUSED & ADAPTABLE

The use of focused shockwaves has become an established procedure to treat many indications. As the number of indications for shockwave treatments and the ESWT therapy options have increased, the requirements for the focal zones of shockwaves in terms of their penetration depth, intensity, shape and volume have also increased significantly. These days, the idea that one focal zone fits all applications is out of date. A modern, innovative shockwave system must be able to adapt to the structure of the respective target tissue. In addition to designing broad-spectrum therapy sources, Richard Wolf GmbH and ELvation Medical GmbH have made it their mission to develop the right therapy sources and focal zones for many different indications to meet the need for successful optimized treatments. All therapy sources shown on this page can be used with the PiezoWave² system. Expanding your therapeutic options by upgrading from a universal therapy source to new and specialized therapeutic procedures sometime in the future is always possible.

 

Focal sizes and their standards …

Focal size, impact zone, -6dB zone, 5 megapascal (MPa) zone, central penetration depth, maximum/distal penetration depth, energy flow density … the terms are confusing and are often used randomly in advertising. It is important to be aware that standards exist to describe focal zones, as discussed in the simplified explanations given below:

The -6dB zone which is often used to compare measurements and studies refers to that area of the focal zone where pressure amplitudes of at least 50% of the maximum value generated at the central point of the focus are achieved. According to current knowledge, however, this figure does not provide any information about the therapeutic impact zone of the shockwave treatment. Based on the assumption that a pressure amplitude of at least 5MPa is necessary in conventional ESWT applications to achieve a therapeutic effect on tissue, the 5MPa zone is increasingly considered to be the therapeutic impact zone. The 5MPa zone is defined as the focal area in an acoustic field where the pressure amplitude = 5MPa.

The reported maximum penetration depth refers to the above-described acoustic fields. The central maximum penetration depth refers to the distance between the skin surface and the point of maximum acoustic pressure when using a gel pad which allows the greatest penetration depth. The maximum penetration depth in the -6dB zone and 5MPa zone refers to the distance between the skin surface and the distal end of the focal zone, again when a using gel pad which allows the greatest penetration depth. The penetration depth can be reduced and precisely adjusted by using gel pads as spacers.

The maximum applied energy flux density, a local variable for the acoustic pressure signal measured at the central focal point, is an acoustic field parameter which is often used in clinical practice and scientific studies. In addition to giving information about pressure conditions in the focal area, this figure also provides information about the energy acting in the focal area of the acoustic field. The unit of measurement for energy flux density is millijoule per square millimeter (mJ/mm²).

Different therapy sources

Click on graphics to enlarge. 

Values vary according to the preset intensity level and may be rounded. The data for the F10G10 and F7G3 therapy sources are still provisional.

Therapiequellen und Fokuszonen für die Indikation gemacht

FOKUSSIERT & VARIABEL

Die fokussierte Stoßwelle hat sich als anerkanntes Therapieverfahren bei vielen Krankheitsbildern fest etabliert. Mit zunehmender Anzahl von Stoßwellen-Indikationen und erweiterten ESWT-Therapieoptionen sind die Anforderungen an die Fokuszonen der Stoßwelle bzgl. Eindringtiefe, Stärke, Form und Volumen deutlich gestiegen. Der Ansatz, eine Fokuszone passt für alles, ist aus Anwendungssicht daher nicht mehr zeitgemäß. Ein modernes und innovatives Stoßwellensystem sollte variabel an die jeweilige Zielstruktur anpassbar sein. Die Richard Wolf GmbH und die ELvation Medical GmbH haben es sich deshalb zur Aufgabe gemacht, zusätzlich zu den Allroundtherapiequellen, für unterschiedlichste Indikationsstellungen die passende Therapiequelle und Fokuszone zu entwickeln, um die Anforderungen an eine erfolgversprechende, optimal angepasste Behandlung zu erfüllen. Alle auf dieser Seite gezeigten Therapiequellen sind optional mit dem PiezoWave² System nutzbar. Ein Ausbau des Therapiekonzeptes von der Allroundtherapiequelle in neue Therapieverfahren ist somit auch perspektivisch machbar.

 

Fokusgröße nach Norm erklärt…

Fokusgröße, Wirkzone, -6dB Zone, 5 Megapascal (MPa) Zone, Eindringtiefe zentral, Eindringtiefe maximal/distal, Energieflussdichte… Angaben, die verwirrend sein können und häufig willkürlich genutzt und beworben werden. Dabei sind Fokuszonen nach Norm beschrieben, was folgend vereinfacht erklärt wird:

Die, insbesondere für die Vergleichbarkeit von Messungen und Studien genutzte -6dB Zone beschreibt den Teil der Fokuszone, in der die Schalldruckamplituden mindestens 50% des Maximalwertes des zentralen Fokusmittelpunkts erreichen. Sie liefert jedoch, nach heutigem Wissensstand, keine Aussage zur therapeutischen Wirkzone der Stoßwellentherapie. Ausgehend von der Annahme, dass zumindest 5MPa Schalldruckamplitude benötigt werden, um einen Gewebeeffekt/Therapieeffekt bei klassischen ESWT Anwendungen zu erreichen, wird deshalb vermehrt die 5MPa Zone als therapeutische Wirkzone betrachtet. Bei der 5MPa Zone handelt es sich nach Norm um den fokalen Schallfeldbereich, in dem die Schalldruckamplituden = 5MPa sind.

Die angegebenen maximalen Eindringtiefen beziehen sich auf die beschriebenen Schallfelder. Die maximale Eindringtiefe zentral beschreibt die Distanz zwischen der Hautoberfläche und dem Punkt des maximalen Schalldrucks, bei Nutzung des Gelpads welches die größte Eindringtiefe ermöglicht. Die maximalen Eindringtiefen der -6dB Zone bzw. 5MPa Zone beziehen sich auf die Distanz zwischen der Hautoberfläche und dem distalen „Ende“ der Fokuszonen, ebenfalls bei Nutzung des Gelpads mit der größtmöglichen Eindringtiefe. Präzise abgestuft bzw. reduziert werden die Eindringtiefen durch den Einsatz von Gelpads als Distanzhalter.

Ein ebenfalls oft in der Praxis und in Studien benutzter Schallfeld-Parameter ist die maximal applizierte Energieflussdichte, eine lokal im zentralen Fokuspunkt aus dem dort gemessenen Schalldrucksignal integrierte Größe. Sie liefert zusätzlich zu Aussagen der Schalldruckverhältnisse im Fokusgebiet, eine energetische Sicht auf das fokale Schallfeld. Die Maßeinheit der Energieflussdichte ist Millijoule pro Quadratmillimeter (mJ/mm2).

Die verschiedenen Therapiequellen

Klicken Sie auf die Grafiken um sie vergrößert anzusehen. 

Werte variieren mit der Intensitätsvorwahl und können gerundet sein. Angaben für die Therapiequellen F10G10 und F7G3 sind vorläufig.